Another Time Another Place

A child of the Blitz, Rose's youngest days are shaped by iconic experiences of wartime and post-war Britain - evacuation, grinding poverty and seemingly endless years of rationing.

Another Time  Another Place

Another Time Another Place

A child of the Blitz, Rose's youngest days are shaped by iconic experiences of wartime and post-war Britain - evacuation, grinding poverty and seemingly endless years of rationing. But she also faces other, more unconventional challenges in the form of her eccentric and unpredictable family. As Rose enters her teenage years, there are other, even darker clouds on the horizon. Her blossoming body and good looks attract the attention of older men, and she is prematurely drawn into a painful world of sexual betrayal, heartache and bureaucratic cruelty. As her father is constantly reminding her, 'no good' will ever come of her.

More Books:

Another Time, Another Place
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Rose Handleigh-Adams
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher:

A child of the Blitz, Rose's youngest days are shaped by iconic experiences of wartime and post-war Britain - evacuation, grinding poverty and seemingly endless years of rationing. But she also faces other, more unconventional challenges in the form of her eccentric and unpredictable family. As Rose enters her teenage
Another Time, Another Place
Language: en
Pages: 399
Authors: Kitty Neale
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Severn House Pub Limited

A wonderfully gritty and heart-warming south London saga the sequel to A Cuckoo in Candle LaneBattersea 1966. Sally Jones has a happy life with her loving husband Arthur and adorable daughter Angela. But everything changes after her grandmother has a stroke and they move back to Candle Lane to look
Another Time, Another Place
Language: en
Pages: 378
Authors: Peter Maxwell
Categories: Short stories, Australian
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher:

Short Stories
Another Time, Another Place
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Jodi Taylor
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-15 - Publisher: Headline

'A great mix of British properness and humour with a large dollop of historical fun' ***** BOOK 12 IN THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING CHRONICLES OF ST MARY'S SERIES For fans of Richard Osman's Thursday Murder Club, Jasper Fforde and Doctor Who. --- 'It's time, Max.' And so, a whole new chapter
Another Time, Another Place
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: Jessie Kesson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-31 - Publisher: Black & White Publishing Ltd

In the summer of 1944, three Italian prisoners of war are billeted in a remote village in the north-east of Scotland. For most of the locals, their arrival is of little interest, hardly distrubing the quiet routines of their isolated crofting community. But for the young farm-worker’s wife who has

Popular All Time

Moon Shot (Enhanced Edition)
Uncaring
Who Gets In and Why
Nine Nasty Words
Penn Statements, Vol. 40
This Is Your Brain on Food
The New Jim Crow
Critical Race Theory (Third Edition)
Crime Lab
Just Mercy
Board Medical Registration and Examination
The Words That Made Us
Becoming Mindful: Silence Your Negative Thoughts and Emotions to Regain Control of Your Life
MLA Handbook
Confessions of a Surgeon
Associated General Contractors of Ohio, Inc. v. Drabik
Rewrite Your Life
Mouse or Rat?