Dear County Agent Guy

These are stories of courtship; childbirth—he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller; family; neighbors; chores; and the duties of a father—why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can’t change a ...

Dear County Agent Guy

Dear County Agent Guy

“Jerry Nelson’s column comes from the true heart of the Midwest. He has the true voice, the slow twang. He knows wheat from barley. He knows hardware, he knows vegetation, he knows people.”—Garrison Keillor In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson is a humorist whose beat is the American heartland, a small-town world of pickup trucks and Sunday night pancake dinners, dropping in on neighbors and complaining about the county agent. His depictions of daily life, from the point of view of an ex-dairy farmer and taciturn husband with a twinkle in his eye, are read by 250,000 people a week—and occasionally woven into Prairie Home Companion scripts. These are stories of courtship; childbirth—he offers the delivery room doctor the use of his calf puller; family; neighbors; chores; and the duties of a father—why is it that a man who spends his days in cow manure can’t change a baby’s diaper? Knee-slappingly funny one moment, poignant the next, it’s a very special look at a distinctly American way of life.

More Books:

Dear County Agent Guy
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Jerry Nelson
Categories: Humor
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-03 - Publisher: Workman Publishing

“Jerry Nelson’s column comes from the true heart of the Midwest. He has the true voice, the slow twang. He knows wheat from barley. He knows hardware, he knows vegetation, he knows people.”—Garrison Keillor In the tradition of Mark Twain and Jean Shepherd, Dave Barry and Garrison Keillor, Jerry Nelson
South Dakota Farm & Home Research
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jerry Nelson
Categories: Agriculture
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher:

Books about South Dakota Farm & Home Research
The County Agent
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jerry Nelson
Categories: Agricultural extension work
Type: BOOK - Published: 1959 - Publisher:

Books about The County Agent
Further Development of Cooperative Agriculture Extension Work
Language: en
Pages: 59
Authors: United States. Congress. Senate. Committee on Agriculture and Forestry
Categories: Agricultural extension work
Type: BOOK - Published: 1945 - Publisher:

Books about Further Development of Cooperative Agriculture Extension Work
Further Development of Cooperative Agricultural Extension Work
Language: en
Pages: 59
Authors: United States. Congress. Senate. Agriculture and Forestry Committee
Categories: Agricultural extension work
Type: BOOK - Published: 1945 - Publisher:

Books about Further Development of Cooperative Agricultural Extension Work

Popular All Time

The Four Winds
A Week in Winter
Isle of Palms
The Most Fun We Ever Had
Firefly Lane
The Midnight Library
The Vanishing Half
Call to Arms
What's Left Untold
Smoke
The Nightingale
The Paris Library
Anxious People
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
Between, Georgia
Beartown
Life After Death
The Great Gatsby