Murder at Marble House

“Delightful...Fans of Victoria Thompson or Deanna Raybourn are sure to enjoy dipping into this historical series.”—Library Journal With the dawn of the twentieth century on the horizon, the fortunes of the venerable Vanderbilt family ...

Murder at Marble House

Murder at Marble House

“Delightful...Fans of Victoria Thompson or Deanna Raybourn are sure to enjoy dipping into this historical series.”—Library Journal With the dawn of the twentieth century on the horizon, the fortunes of the venerable Vanderbilt family still shine brightly in the glittering high society of Newport, Rhode Island. But when a potential scandal strikes, the Vanderbilts turn to cousin and society page reporter Emma Cross to solve a murder and a disappearance. . . Responding to a frantic call on her newfangled telephone from her eighteen-year-old cousin, Consuelo Vanderbilt, Emma Cross arrives at the Marble House mansion and learns the cause of her distress--Consuelo's mother, Alva, is forcing her into marriage with the Duke of Marlborough. Her mother has even called in a fortune teller to assure Consuelo of a happy future. But the future is short-lived for the fortune teller, who is found dead by her crystal ball, strangled with a silk scarf. Standing above her is one of the Vanderbilts' maids, who is promptly taken into police custody. After the frenzy has died down, Consuelo is nowhere to be found. At Alva's request, Emma must employ her sleuthing skills to determine if the vanishing Vanderbilt has eloped with the beau of her choice--or if her disappearance may be directly connected to the murder. . .

More Books:

Murder at Marble House
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Alyssa Maxwell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-30 - Publisher: Kensington Books

“Delightful...Fans of Victoria Thompson or Deanna Raybourn are sure to enjoy dipping into this historical series.”—Library Journal With the dawn of the twentieth century on the horizon, the fortunes of the venerable Vanderbilt family still shine brightly in the glittering high society of Newport, Rhode Island. But when a potential
Murder at Rough Point
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Alyssa Maxwell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-09-01 - Publisher: Kensington Books

In glittering Newport, Rhode Island, status is everything. But despite being a poorer relation to the venerable Vanderbilts, Emma Cross has shaped her own identity—as a reporter and a sleuth. As the nineteenth century draws to a close, Fancies and Fashion reporter Emma Cross is sent by the Newport Observer
Murder at Beechwood
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Alyssa Maxwell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-06-01 - Publisher: Kensington Books

For Newport, Rhode Island’s high society, the summer of 1896 brings lawn parties, sailboat races...and murder. Having turned down the proposal of Derrick Andrews, Emma Cross has no imminent plans for matrimony—let alone motherhood. But when she discovers an infant left on her doorstep, she naturally takes the child into
Murder at the Breakers
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Alyssa Maxwell
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-25 - Publisher: Kensington Books

In a historical mystery for Downton Abbey fans, a society reporter covers a killer party in Gilded Age Newport. Newport, Rhode Island, August 1895: She may be a less well-heeled relation, but as second cousin to millionaire patriarch Cornelius Vanderbilt, twenty-one-year-old Emma Cross is on the guest list for a
Murder at the Old Stone House
Language: en
Pages: 311
Authors: Charlotte Murray Russell
Categories: Murder
Type: BOOK - Published: 1935 - Publisher:

Books about Murder at the Old Stone House

Popular All Time

The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Job, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes, Volume 2
I Give Up
Woman Evolve
The Women of the Bible Speak
Winning the War in Your Mind
Forgiving What You Can't Forget
Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy in My Soul
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Job, Proverbs, and Ecclesiastes, Volume 1
When God Winks at You
We Will Not Be Silenced
Get Out of Your Head
Don't Drop the Mic
Carrying the Presence
Kingdom Men Rising
Listening to the Heart
Keys to the Deeper Life
The Love Dare
The Screwtape Letters