Stupid Things I Won t Do When I Get Old

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist ...

Stupid Things I Won t Do When I Get Old

Stupid Things I Won t Do When I Get Old

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist Steven Petrow. Soon after his 50th birthday, Steven Petrow began assembling a list of “things I won’t do when I get old”—mostly a catalog of all the things he thought his then 70-something year old parents were doing wrong. That list, which included “You won’t have to shout at me that I’m deaf,” and “I won’t blame the family dog for my incontinence,” became the basis of this rousing collection of do’s and don’ts, wills and won’ts that is equal parts hilarious, honest, and practical. The fact is, we don’t want to age the way previous generations did. “Old people” hoard. They bore relatives—and strangers—with tales of their aches and pains. They insist on driving long after they’ve become a danger to others (and themselves). They eat dinner at 4pm. They swear they don’t need a cane or walker (and guess what happens next). They never, ever apologize. But there is another way . . . In Stupid Things I Won’t Do When I Get Old, Petrow candidly addresses the fears, frustrations, and stereotypes that accompany aging. He offers a blueprint for the new old age, and an understanding that aging and illness are not the same. As he writes, “I meant the list to serve as a pointed reminder—to me—to make different choices when I eventually cross the threshold to ‘old.’” Getting older is a privilege. This essential guide reveals how to do it with grace, wisdom, humor, and hope. And without hoarding.

More Books:

Stupid Things I Won't Do When I Get Old
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Steven Petrow
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-29 - Publisher: Citadel Press

For fans of David Sedaris and Nora Ephron, here is a humorous, irreverent, and poignant look at the gifts, stereotypes, and inevitable challenges of aging, based on the wildly popular New York Times essay from award-winning journalist Steven Petrow. Soon after his 50th birthday, Steven Petrow began assembling a list
Das Schicksal ist ein mieser Verräter
Language: de
Pages:
Authors: John Green, Scott Neustadter
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014 - Publisher:

Books about Das Schicksal ist ein mieser Verräter
I Don't Give a F***!
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Prem Dayal
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Lulu.com

Books about I Don't Give a F***!
Twice Shy
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Dick Francis
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-10-05 - Publisher: Penguin

A computerized horse-betting system falls into Jonathan Derry's hands--and unless he returns it to the rightful owners, the odds of his survival are slim to none.
Detroit, Lenacrave and Cleveland
Language: en
Pages: 628
Authors: Brooke!
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-12-15 - Publisher: AuthorHouse

I was almost as hard headed as it gets while repeatedly insisting on missing and ignoring the entire point that Mom and a few others tried to get me to realize. “GET YOUR EDUCATION!!!” I still had some great times here and there every now and then, and I can

Popular All Time

Natural Gardening for Birds
The Lion in the Living Room
The Forever Dog
Dewey's Nine Lives
Medical, Genetic & Behavioral Risk Factors of Cane Corsos
Art Collecting Today
Simply Clean
The Dog Who Could Fly
Cannabis Grower's Handbook
Goodbye, Things: The New Japanese Minimalism
Codex Supplement: Ultramarines (Enhanced Edition)
Controlled Aggression
Training Your German Shepherd Dog
Stitch New York
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up
Growing Marijuana Mastery: The Easiest and Complete Handbook to Growing Weed Indoor and Outdoor
Decoding Your Dog
How to Raise the Perfect Dog