The Eye of the Sandpiper

The stories in The Eye of the Sandpiper are arranged in four thematic sections. Each addresses nature through a different lens.

The Eye of the Sandpiper

The Eye of the Sandpiper

In The Eye of the Sandpiper, Brandon Keim pairs cutting-edge science with a deep love of nature, conveying his insights in prose that is both accessible and beautiful. In an elegant, thoughtful tour of nature in the twenty-first century, Keim continues in the tradition of Lewis Thomas, Stephen Jay Gould, and David Quammen, reporting from the frontiers of science while celebrating the natural world’s wonders and posing new questions about our relationship to the rest of life on Earth. The stories in The Eye of the Sandpiper are arranged in four thematic sections. Each addresses nature through a different lens. The first is evolutionary and ecological dynamics, from how patterns form on butterfly wings to the ecological importance of oft-reviled lampreys. The second section explores the inner lives of animals, which science has only recently embraced: empathy in rats, emotions in honeybees, spirituality in chimpanzees. The third section contains stories of people acting on insights both ecological and ethological: nourishing blighted rivers, but also caring for injured pigeons at a hospital for wild birds and demanding legal rights for primates. The fourth section unites ecology and ethology in discussions of ethics: how we should think about and behave toward nature, and the place of wildness in a world in which space for wilderness is shrinking. By appreciating the nonhuman world more fully, Keim writes, "I hope people will also act in ways that nourish rather than impoverish its life—which is, ultimately, the problem that needs to be solved at this Anthropocene moment, with a sixth mass extinction looming, once-common animals becoming rare, and Earth straining to support 7.5 billion people. The solution will come from a love of nature rather than chastisement or lamentation."

More Books:

The Eye of the Sandpiper
Language: en
Pages: 266
Authors: Brandon Keim
Categories: Nature
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-06-20 - Publisher: Cornell University Press

In The Eye of the Sandpiper, Brandon Keim pairs cutting-edge science with a deep love of nature, conveying his insights in prose that is both accessible and beautiful. In an elegant, thoughtful tour of nature in the twenty-first century, Keim continues in the tradition of Lewis Thomas, Stephen Jay Gould,
Scribners Monthly
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Brandon Keim
Categories: Literature
Type: BOOK - Published: 1873 - Publisher:

Books about Scribners Monthly
The Illustrated Natural History: Birds
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Zoology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1872 - Publisher:

Books about The Illustrated Natural History: Birds
The Popular Encyclopedia, Or Conversations Lexicon
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: John George Wood
Categories: Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Type: BOOK - Published: 1876 - Publisher:

Books about The Popular Encyclopedia, Or Conversations Lexicon
The New American Cyclopaedia
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: George Ripley, Charles Anderson Dana
Categories: Encyclopedias and dictionaries
Type: BOOK - Published: 1862 - Publisher:

Books about The New American Cyclopaedia

Popular All Time

World Travel
On the Plain of Snakes
The Old Patagonian Express
Maui Revealed
Unruly Places
A Canterbury Pilgrimage / An Italian Pilgrimage
Palermo
Yosemite National Park Illustrated Travel Guide & Maps (Mobi Travel)
DK Eyewitness Pacific Northwest: Oregon, Washington and British Columbia
DK Eyewitness Italy
The Outlaw Ocean
Rick Steves Prague & The Czech Republic
DK Eyewitness USA
DK Eyewitness France
The Deepest South of All
DK Eyewitness Tokyo
Take More Vacations
DK Eyewitness Great Britain