The Power of Strangers

Warm, witty, erudite, and profound, equal parts sweeping history and self-help journey, this deeply researched book will inspire readers to see everything—from major geopolitical shifts to trips to the corner store—in an entirely new ...

The Power of Strangers

The Power of Strangers

An entertaining, surprising, and ultimately inspiring look at what happens when we talk to strangers, and why it affects everything from our own health and well-being to the rise and fall of nations in the tradition of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens “This lively, searching work makes the case that welcoming ‘others’ isn’t just the bedrock of civilization, it’s the surest path to the best of what life has to offer.”—Ayad Akhtar, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Homeland Elegies In our cities, we stand in silence at the pharmacy and in check-out lines at the grocery store, distracted by our phones, barely acknowledging one another, even as rates of loneliness skyrocket. Online, we retreat into ideological silos reinforced by algorithms designed to serve us only familiar ideas and like-minded users. In our politics, we are increasingly consumed by a fear of people we’ve never met. But what if strangers—so often blamed for our most pressing political, social, and personal problems—are actually the solution? In The Power of Strangers, Joe Keohane sets out on a journey to discover what happens when we bridge the distance between us and people we don’t know. He learns that while we’re wired to sometimes fear, distrust, and even hate strangers, people and societies that have learned to connect with strangers benefit immensely. Digging into a growing body of cutting-edge research on the surprising social and psychological benefits that come from talking to strangers, Keohane finds that even passing interactions can enhance empathy, happiness, and cognitive development, ease loneliness and isolation, and root us in the world, deepening our sense of belonging. And all the while, Keohane gathers practical tips from experts on how to talk to strangers, and tries them out himself in the wild, to awkward, entertaining, and frequently poignant effect. Warm, witty, erudite, and profound, equal parts sweeping history and self-help journey, this deeply researched book will inspire readers to see everything—from major geopolitical shifts to trips to the corner store—in an entirely new light, showing them that talking to strangers isn’t just a way to live; it’s a way to survive.

More Books:

The Power of Strangers
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Joe Keohane
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-07-13 - Publisher: Random House

An entertaining, surprising, and ultimately inspiring look at what happens when we talk to strangers, and why it affects everything from our own health and well-being to the rise and fall of nations in the tradition of Susan Cain’s Quiet and Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens “This lively, searching work makes
The Power of the Stranger
Language: en
Pages: 138
Authors: Gert J.F. Leene, Theo N.M. Schuyt
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-24 - Publisher: Routledge

The decline of the welfare state in Western Europe has led to an increasing role both for citizen-led initiatives and for philanthropy in easing, solving or preventing social problems. Care and everyday help is being provided by strangers - people driven by enthusiasm and commitment but unfamiliar with the pitfalls
The Power of Circles
Language: en
Pages: 190
Authors: Norman G. Lavery
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-30 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

Communication is the key to all successful human interactions. In light of the expanding use of texting and other forms of electronic communication, we risk losing the personal, face-to-face meetings that have been the mainstay of positive relationships between individuals and groups for thousands of years. Lavery shows how the
The Power of Purpose
Language: en
Pages: 302
Authors: Peter S. Temes
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-03-27 - Publisher: Harmony

The Power of Purpose begins with a simple but remarkable statement: “The more you focus on helping others, the more you will succeed in reaching your own goals.” Peter S. Temes builds on this fundamental insight to share a simple plan for living with the truest and most enduring kind
The Power of Historical Knowledge
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Susan L. Mizruchi
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-07-14 - Publisher: Princeton University Press

In this provocative study, Susan Mizruchi argues that the act of writing history is the key to the political concerns of American novelists. Using nineteenth-century theories of history as well as recent narratological models, she examines reconstructions of the past in The House of the Seven Gables (1851), The Bostonians

Popular All Time

A History of God
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Volume 1
Finding Quiet
Crazy Faith
A Mind Awake
Forgiving What You Can't Forget
The Purpose Driven Life
Amazing Truths
The Holy Word for Morning Revival - Crystallization-study of Joshua, Judges, Ruth, Volume 2
Don't Give the Enemy a Seat at Your Table
Precepts For Living : The UMI Annual Bible Commentary 2021-2022
Where Do We Go from Here?
Winning the War in Your Mind
Gentle and Lowly
The 5 Levels of Leadership
Mere Christianity
The Ruthless Elimination of Hurry
Bible Expositor and Illuminator