The Rust Maidens

But even with all the onlookers, nobody can explain what’s happening or why—except perhaps the Rust Maidens themselves.

The Rust Maidens

The Rust Maidens

Something’s happening to the girls on Denton Street. It’s the summer of 1980 in Cleveland, Ohio, and Phoebe Shaw and her best friend Jacqueline have just graduated high school, only to confront an ugly, uncertain future. Across the city, abandoned factories populate the skyline; meanwhile at the shore, one strong spark, and the Cuyahoga River might catch fire. But none of that compares to what’s happening in their own west side neighborhood. The girls Phoebe and Jacqueline have grown up with are changing. It starts with footprints of dark water on the sidewalk. Then, one by one, the girls’ bodies wither away, their fingernails turning to broken glass, and their bones exposed like corroded metal beneath their flesh. As rumors spread about the grotesque transformations, soon everyone from nosy tourists to clinic doctors and government men start arriving on Denton Street, eager to catch sight of “the Rust Maidens” in metamorphosis. But even with all the onlookers, nobody can explain what’s happening or why—except perhaps the Rust Maidens themselves. Whispering in secret, they know more than they’re telling, and Phoebe realizes her former friends are quietly preparing for something that will tear their neighborhood apart. Alternating between past and present, Phoebe struggles to unravel the mystery of the Rust Maidens—and her own unwitting role in the transformations—before she loses everything she’s held dear: her home, her best friend, and even perhaps her own body.

More Books:

The Rust Maidens
Language: un
Pages: 252
Authors: Gwendolyn Kiste
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-11-16 - Publisher: JournalStone

Something’s happening to the girls on Denton Street. It’s the summer of 1980 in Cleveland, Ohio, and Phoebe Shaw and her best friend Jacqueline have just graduated high school, only to confront an ugly, uncertain future. Across the city, abandoned factories populate the skyline; meanwhile at the shore, one strong
Boneset & Feathers
Language: un
Pages: 172
Authors: Gwendolyn Kiste
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-11-03 - Publisher:

Boneset & Feathers is a novel of witchy folk horror by Bram Stoker Award-winning author Gwendolyn Kiste, in which a young woman must re-ignite her magic against the threat of the dreaded witchfinders. You don't know their fire is coming until it's too late. That's exactly the way the witchfinders
To Be Devoured
Language: un
Pages: 132
Authors: Sara Tantlinger
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-24 - Publisher:

What does carrion taste like? Andi has to know. The vultures circling outside her home taunt and invite her to come understand the secrets hiding in their banquet of decay. Fascination morphs into an obsessive need to know what the vultures know. Andi turns to Dr. Fawning, but even the
Wendy, Darling
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: A.C. Wise
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-06-01 - Publisher: Titan Books

A lush, feminist re-imagining on what happened to Wendy after Neverland, for fans of Circe and The Mere Wife. For those that lived there, Neverland was a children's paradise. No rules, no adults, only endless adventure and enchanted forests - all led by the charismatic boy who would never grow
Whiskey and Other Unusual Ghosts
Language: un
Pages: 166
Authors: S. L. Edwards
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-07-15 - Publisher:

Whiskey and Other Unusual Ghosts debuts a meteoric new voice in modern dark fiction. In these tales, you'll discover the humanity of horror, and the traumas that birth ghosts of all kinds. From inner demons to the bloodied fields of war, Edwards maintains his unique voice while whispers of classic

Popular All Time

The Duplicate Bride
Freed
The Art of Deception
Unmasking the Marquess
Deadly Past
Say You're Mine
An Unexpected Affair
It Ends with Us
People We Meet on Vacation
Brother's Keeper Series Complete Box Set
Justice Mission
The Crown of Gilded Bones
From Blood and Ash
Romancing Olive
A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire
Mafia Bride
Beach Read
Ugly Love