The Sealwoman s Gift

In her acclaimed debut novel Sally Magnusson imagines what history does not record: the experience of Asta, the pastor's wife, as she faces her losses with the one thing left to her - the stories from home - and forges an ambiguous bond ...

The Sealwoman s Gift

The Sealwoman s Gift

'REMARKABLE' Sarah Perry | 'EXTRAORDINARILY IMMERSIVE' Guardian | 'EPIC' Zoe Ball Book Club | 'A REALLY, REALLY GOOD READ' BBC R2 Book Club' | 'LYRICAL' Stylist | 'POETIC' Daily Mail 1627. In a notorious historical event, pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted 400 people into slavery in Algiers. Among them a pastor, his wife, and their children. In her acclaimed debut novel Sally Magnusson imagines what history does not record: the experience of Asta, the pastor's wife, as she faces her losses with the one thing left to her - the stories from home - and forges an ambiguous bond with the man who bought her. Uplifting, moving, and sharply witty, The Sealwoman's Gift speaks across centuries and oceans about loss, love, resilience and redemption. SHORTLISTED FOR THE HWA DEBUT CROWN | THE BEST FIRST NOVEL AWARD | THE MCKITTERICK PRIZE | THE PAUL TORDAY MEMORIAL PRIZE | THE WAVERTON GOOD READ AWARD | A ZOE BALL ITV BOOK CLUB PICK 'Sally Magnusson has taken an amazing true event and created a brilliant first novel. It's an epic journey in every sense: although it's historical, it's incredibly relevant to our world today. We had to pick it' Zoe Ball Book Club 'Richly imagined and energetically told' Sunday Times 'The best sort of historical novel' Scotsman 'Compelling ' Good Housekeeping 'An accomplished and intelligent novel' Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, author of Why Did You Lie? 'Vivid and compelling' Adam Nichols, co-translator of The Travels of Reverend Ólafur Egilsson *And Sally Magnusson's second novel, The Ninth Child, publishes March 2020 - available to pre-order now*

More Books:

The Sealwoman's Gift
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Sally Magnusson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-08 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'REMARKABLE' Sarah Perry | 'EXTRAORDINARILY IMMERSIVE' Guardian | 'EPIC' Zoe Ball Book Club | 'A REALLY, REALLY GOOD READ' BBC R2 Book Club' | 'LYRICAL' Stylist | 'POETIC' Daily Mail 1627. In a notorious historical event, pirates raided the coast of Iceland and abducted 400 people into slavery in Algiers.
The Ninth Child
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Sally Magnusson
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-19 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'WONDERFUL. ONE NEVER MESSES WITH THE FAERIES' Melanie Reid, The Times 'AN ABSOLUTE TRIUMPH' Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus 'EXTRAORDINARILY VIVD' Michelle Gallen, author of Big Girl Small Town A spellbinding novel combining Scottish folklore with hidden history, by the Sunday Times bestselling author Sally Magnusson. Loch Katrine waterworks,
Small Pleasures
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Clare Chambers
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-09 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'A WORD-OF-MOUTH HIT' Evening Standard 'Perfect' India Knight 'A very fine book... It's witty and sharp and reads like something by Barbara Pym or Anita Brookner, without ever feeling like a pastiche' David Nicholls 'Beautiful' Jessie Burton 'Effortless to read, but every sentence lingers in the mind' Lissa Evans 'This
Bitter
Language: en
Pages: 352
Authors: Francesca Jakobi
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-03-08 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'A novel to detonate the heart. Fans of Gail Honeyman and Joanna Cannon will love Bitter' A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window 'As gripping as Zoe Heller's Notes on A Scandal' Peter Bradshaw, Guardian Film Critic 'Brilliantly paced, moving, thoughtful and sharp. Loved it' Renée Knight, author
Where Memories Go
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Sally Magnusson
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-01-30 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'A fine book' The Sunday Times 'Powerful' Guardian 'Wonderful' The Telegraph 'Moving, funny, warm' Mail on Sunday 'Brave, compassionate, tender and honest' Metro 'This book began as an attempt to hold on to my witty, storytelling mother with the one thing I had to hand. Words. Then, as the enormity

Popular All Time

The Four Winds
The Complete Works of Ernest Hemingway
The Bookstore on the Beach
Olive, Again
Good Company
The Midnight Library
Captains and the Kings
An American Marriage (Oprah's Book Club)
If She Had Stayed
The Barbara Pym Collection Volume One
One Day in December
The Invitation
Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows
Beauty and the Goblin King
Gap Creek (Oprah's Book Club)
His Only Wife
Diary of an Oxygen Thief
Where the Crawdads Sing